Guest Review(s): Atlantis Rising, Pandemonium, and The Bats at the Library

This week’s Guest Review: Jesse stopped by to tell us about: some movie news with Atlantis Rising by T. A. Barron, his thoughts on Pandemonium by Warren Fahy, and a children’s book called Bats at the Library by Brian Lies.

More info on the book mentioned in this video

Atlantis Rising (Atlantis Saga) by T. A. Barron| wearewordnerds.com

Atlantis Rising (Atlantis Saga) by T. A. Barron

Release Date: 2013-09-26

From T.A. Barron, the New York Times bestselling author of the Merlin Saga, comes a new fantasy world about the origins of Atlantis, perfect for fans of The Lord of the Rings, Eragon, The Beyonders and Percy Jackson and the Olympians. In a magical land called Ellegandia, a young boy named Promi scrapes by, stealing pies, cakes and sweets to survive. But little does he know that his country is a pawn in an ages-old war between good and evil, battled both in the spirit realm and in the human world. Harboring secrets of his own, Promi teams up with a courageous girl named Atlanta and the two vow to save their land—and each other—no matter the cost. But their vow has greater repercussions than they ever could imagine—in fact, it may just bring about the creation of Atlantis, an island cut off from the rest of the world, where magic reigns supreme. With his trademark action, adventure, and poignancy,master of fantasy, T.A. Barron explores a new mythology—the origin of the legendary isle of Atlantis. This book is perfect for fans of Rick Riordan, Brandon Mull, Christopher Paolini and, of course, T. A. Barron’s Merlin Saga. Praise for T. A. Barron’s novels:   “Brilliant, significant, and illuminating . . . an intense and profoundly spiritual adventure.”—Lloyd Alexander   “A crescendo of miracles.”—Madeleine L’Engle    “Interesting and august . . . compelling.”—The New York Times   “In the best tradition . . . classic.”—Parents Magazine

|

Pandemonium by Warren Fahy| wearewordnerds.com

Pandemonium by Warren Fahy

Release Date: 2014-01-28

Deep beneath the Ural Mountains, in an underground city carved out by slave labor during the darkest hours of the Cold War, ancient caverns hold exotic and dangerous life-forms that have evolved in isolation for countless millennia. Cut off from the surface world, an entire ecosystem of bizarre subterranean species has survived undetected—until now.Biologists Nell and Geoffrey Binswanger barely survived their last encounter with terrifying, invasive creatures that threatened to engulf the planet. They think the danger is over until a ruthless Russian tycoon lures them to his underground metropolis, where they find themselves confronted by a vicious menagerie of biological horrors from their past—and by entirely new breeds of voracious predators. Now they’re rising up from the bowels of the Earth to consume the world as we know it.USA Today praised Warren Fahy’s debut novel, Fragment, as “a rollicking tale [that] will enthrall readers of Jurassic Park and The Ruins.” Now Fahy sets off an even more thrilling stampede of action and suspense, bursting forth from the hellish depths of…Pandemonium.

|

Bats at the Library by Brian Lies| wearewordnerds.com

Bats at the Library by Brian Lies

Release Date: 2008-09-08

Houghton Mifflin Company Another inky evening’s here— The air is cool and calm and clear.Can it be true? Oh, can it be?Yes!—Bat Night at the library!Join the free-for-all fun at the public library with these book-loving bats! Shape shadows on walls, frolic in the water fountain, and roam the book-filled halls until it’s time for everyone, young and old, to settle down into the enchantment of story time. Brian Lies’ joyful critters and their nocturnal celebration cast library visits in a new light. Even the youngest of readers will want to join the batty book-fest!

|

Similar Posts:

Comments are closed.