Guest Review: Proxy by Alex London


Buy on Amazon

Available in:
HARDCOVER
PAPERBACK
KINDLE

Proxy

By: Alex London

Published by: Philomel
Released On: 2013-06-18

ISBN: 0399257764
Pages: 384
Genre: Science Fiction / Young Adult

Author’s Website:
http://www.calexanderlondon.com/
Author’s Social:   Twitter  |  Facebook

Format of Review Copy: Paperback
Source: WeAreWordNerds ARC Loan

Recommendable for people who enjoy:  YA Dystopian and Science Fiction novels 

Synopsis (from Amazon):
The adventure novel of the year! Inspired by The Whipping Boy and Feed, this adrenaline-fueled thriller will appeal to fans of The Hunger Games and Divergent. Knox was born into one of the City’s wealthiest families. A Patron, he has everything a boy could possibly want—the latest tech, the coolest clothes, and a Proxy to take all his punishments. When Knox breaks a vase, Syd is beaten. When Knox plays a practical joke, Syd is forced to haul rocks. And when Knox crashes a car, killing one of his friends, Syd is branded and sentenced to death. Syd is a Proxy.  His life is not his own. Then again, neither is Knox’s. Knox and Syd have more in common than either would guess. So when Knox and Syd realize that the only way to beat the system is to save each other, they flee. Yet Knox’s father is no ordinary Patron, and Syd is no ordinary Proxy. The ensuing cross-country chase will uncover a secret society of rebels, test both boys’ resolve, and shine a blinding light onto a world of those who owe and those who pay. Some debts, it turns out, cannot be repaid. A fast-paced, thrill-ride of novel full of non-stop action, heart-hammering suspense and true friendship—just as moving as it is exhilarating. Fans of Anthony Horowitz’s Alex Rider series, James Dashner’s Maze Runner, Patrick Ness’s Chaos Walking series, and Marie Lu’s Legend trilogy will be swept away by this story.     “Put down what you’re doing and read this book. Right now. The complex characters, intricate world, and blistering pace are off-the-charts amazing. I fell in love with this story from the first sentence to the final, epic page. London is a force to be reckoned with.” —Marie Lu, author of the Legend trilogy    “[A] smart, stylish science-fiction thriller that deftly weaves big issues like guilt, accidents of birth, redemption and commerce into a page-turning read.” —Kirkus Reviews   “Proxy moves blindingly fast through a world of danger gone viral. It’s science-fiction on a joy ride full of deceit and imagination.” —Deseret News

 

Allyn’s Thoughts:

Allyn reads Proxy by Alex London    I’d just complained in a vlog about characters in YA novels not being diverse enough, when I picked up Proxy. BAM! One of the main characters, Syd, is not only “brown” but gay! It was like the book gods were telling me to shut my mouth, which is fine with me.

Let’s start off with the negatives. I didn’t really care for the ending. It was pretty predictable and felt a little rushed. I normally like for things to be wrapped up at the end, but I wish London hadn’t done that with this book. If I’m being completely honest, Sydney’s being “brown” and the poorer character, got the side eye from me. Also, the more I think about it, the tech in this book is VERY similar to the tech in the Uglies series by Scott Westerfeld.

Now, onto the stuff I say about all the books I like. The characters where very well written and surprisingly relatable.  The plot moved in a direction that made sense. Also, I really loved the simplicity of the scenery.  Even though there were holographs, robots, smart cars, and genetically modified people roaming around; I still pictured a regular old classroom, a regular slum village, and a regular suburban area. The house Knox lived in did make me think of that Disney Channel movie Smart House, minus the psycho lady.

I really enjoyed reading this book. It was fast paced and relatable, and I’d definitely recommend it to any lovers of dystopia or even science fiction. Overall I gave this book 4 out of 5 stars, (which on my scale means I really liked it) and I’m looking forward to the sequel!

 

connect with Allyn:   goodreads  |  twitter  |  youtubeemail

Please note that my posts contain affiliate links. What that means is, every time you purchase a product through one of my links, your cost will be the same but I will receive a small commission. I use this money to keep the site going, so your support is greatly appreciated!