Spiderwick Chronicles 4 – The Ironwood Tree

Buy on Amazon

Available in:

The Ironwood Tree (The Spiderwick Chronicles, Book 4)

By: Holly Black

Published by: Simon & Schuster Books For Young Readers
Released On: 2004-04-06

ISBN: 0689859392
Pages: 128

Genre: Childrens

Author’s Website:

Author’s Social: Twitter  |  Facebook

Format of Review Copy: hardcover
Source:  purchased

Recommendable for people who enjoy:  childrens, adventure, fairy

Synopsis (from blackholly.com):

First, a pack of vile, smelly goblins snatch Simon. Then a band of elves tries to entrap Jared. Why is the entire faerie world so eager to get their hands on Spiderwick’s Guide? Will the Grace kids be left alone, now that the Guide has mysteriously disappeared? Illustrations.


My Thoughts:

Book 4 in the Spiderwick Chronicles is not even included in the film adaptation of this series.  Such a shame!  This book was awesome!  In book four Mallory gets kidnapped and we meet the Korting,  dwarves, the knocker, metal robot dogs, and evil evil Mulgarath! 

Kidnaps, rescues, and clues to eerie things yet to come are all contained in this tiny volume!

I’m a huge fan of all things fae/mystic, and children’s books are no exception. =)  I found this book to be a super fast read with tons of “action” that just kept the pages turning.

In Conclusion:

I love this series, so I say READ IT.   Should be included in the “Must Read” category for all young readers!

Mom Notes:

Though the recommended reading age group for this book is age 6+, I say would be better for grades 3 and up.  The series might be a little scary for younger children.

Fun Stuff:
Visit http://www.spiderwickchronicles.com/ for wallpapers, signatures, and tons of interactive content!

Fun downloads, print outs, and activity sheets can be found HERE.  Fun stuff for teachers can be found HERE

Similar Posts: